In Brightspace, instructors can determine when students can view their final grade within the grade book. To allow students to view their final grade within the Grades section of your course, please follow the series of steps below!

  1. In Brightspace, click on the “Grades” item in your blue course navigation bar.
  2. Select the “Manage Grades” tab if it is not already selected
  3. In the “Final Grades” column, click on the downwards-facing arrow to the right of the word “Final Calculated Grade.”
  4. Select “Enter Grades” from the dropdown menu that appears.
  5. On the new screen, click on the checkbox to the left of the First Name, Last Name column. This will select all students within your course.
  6. Click on the blue “Release/Unrelease” button.
  7. You can then check the “Release/Unrelease” status by viewing the “Released” column. A checkmark means that the grade has been released, and can be viewed by the student.
  8. If the box is not checked, click on the blue “Release/Unrelease” button again, as in step 5.
  9. Click Save and Close.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When releasing grades via the “Select all rows” method be aware that any changes made will only apply to the users DISPLAYED ON THE PAGE. Instructors running courses with large numbers of users may wish to change the number of users viewed on the page via the “Results Per Page” drop menu located to the right below the table display of the final grade.

That’s all! Please note that these steps are only applicable to Brightspace. For assistance in publishing grades to WebAdvisor, please contact the DeSales Helpdesk.